President Obama makes Radio Free Asia Permanent

On July 13, President Barack Obama signed into law a legislation that provides permanent authorization to Radio Free Asia. Given below is the text of the White House statement.

This is good news to the Tibetan service of RFA. Prior to this bill, the authorization for funding Radio Free Asia would not have been available after September 30, 2010.

The White House

Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release
July 13, 2010

Statement by the Press Secretary on S. 3104

Earlier today, the President signed S. 3104, legislation that provides
permanent authorization for Radio Free Asia (RFA). The mission of Radio Free Asia directly reflects the value Americans place on freedom of and access to information, which are vital to the democratic process and consistent with the principles of freedom of opinion and expression in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Over the last 14 years, RFA has brought accurate and timely news to the
people of seven Asian countries without a free press. Starting with just
two language services, it now broadcasts in nine Asian languages and
numerous dialects. It has been honored with a wide variety of prestigious
journalism awards over the years for providing factual and impartial news as well as analysis, commentary, and cultural programming.

We will continue to work closely with Congress to support the critical work
of RFA, and thank Senator Lugar and Representative Royce for their
leadership in advancing this legislation. We look forward to increasing
RFA’s audience reach in the years to come.


Senate version Resolution: S. 3104

Sponsor: Sen Lugar, Richard G. [IN]
1) Sen Franken, Al [MN] –
2) Sen Inouye, Daniel K. [HI]
3) Sen Kaufman, Edward E. [DE]
4) Sen Risch, James E. [ID]
5) Sen Webb, Jim [VA]

House version Resolution, H.R.4886

Sponsor: Rep Royce, Edward R.[CA]
1) Rep Ackerman, Gary L. [NY-5]

2) Rep Berman, Howard L. [CA-28]

3) Rep Blackburn, Marsha [TN-7]

4) Rep Burton, Dan [IN-5]

5) Rep Calvert, Ken [CA-44]

6) Rep Cao, Anh “Joseph” [LA-2]

7) Rep Chu, Judy < [CA-32]

8) Rep Connolly, Gerald E. “Gerry” [VA-11]

9) Rep Crowley, Joseph [NY-7]

10) Rep Engel, Eliot L. [NY-17]

11) Rep Faleomavaega, Eni F.H. [AS]

12) Rep Franks, Trent [AZ-2]

13) Rep Holt, Rush D. [NJ-12]

14) Rep Honda, Michael M. [CA-15]

15) Rep Kirk, Mark Steven [IL-10]

16) Rep McCotter, Thaddeus G. [MI-11]

17) Rep McGovern, James P. [MA-3]

18) Rep Miller, Candice S. [MI-10]

19) Rep Pitts, Joseph R. [PA-16]

20) Rep Poe, Ted [TX-2]

21) Rep Rohrabacher, Dana [CA-46]

22) Rep Ros-Lehtinen, Ileana [FL-18]

23) Rep Sablan, Gregorio Kilili Camacho [MP]

24) Rep Sanchez, Loretta [CA-47]

25) Rep Schiff, Adam B. [CA-29]

26) Rep Schock, Aaron < [IL-18]

27) Rep Smith, Christopher H. [NJ-4]

28) Rep Thornberry, Mac [TX-13]

29) Rep Turner, Michael R. [OH-3]

30) Rep Walz, Timothy J. [MN-1]

31) Rep Wolf, Frank R. [VA-10] – 3/25/2010


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s