This Tibetan Girl’s Hope

Among many things Tibetan that is on youtube is this song sung by two Tibetan women from Switzerland. They are from Zurich and seem to have won an award for this song.  The lyric is touching and introspective while being simple. It dwells into the dilemma of the Tibetans today living in different societies.

I wish I could know the names of the singers and the composer of the lyrics so that I could give them their proper credit here but nothing is on youtube to indicate their background.

Following is my unofficial translation of the lyrics.  Enjoy and introspect, y’all!

This Girl’s Hope

When living in foreign Switzerland
You are not a Swiss, I am told
When visiting Tibet on a pilgrimage
You are not a Tibetan child, I am told

On account of past life’s Karma
I am separated from my Tibetan brethren
When I was visiting Tibet
My mind was greatly pleased

Even though I had arrived in my homeland Tibet
The young Tibetans
Called me a foreign girl
On responding that I am a Tibetan
Their eyes merely blinked
My mind was greatly saddened

This girl’s Hope
To all of today’s youth
Please bear in your mind
Your religion and culture

Tibetans of the same flesh and bone
Please do not act like this
Please believe in me
Although we Tibetans are dispersed
The Tibetan religion and culture
Are something that we can be proud of

On responding that I am a Tibetan
Their eyes merely blinked
My mind was greatly saddened

This girl’s Hope
To all of today’s youth
Please bear in your mind
Your religion and culture

One thought on “This Tibetan Girl’s Hope

  1. I remember reading about this and i appreciate the fact that you have posted this information on your blog. It’s very hard for Tibetans to talk about their identity outside of being “Tibetan” because that would mean that they have also adapted another identity outside of the Tibet sphere and that would mean in some ways that change is taking its course and we are integrating which would pose the question, what is the Tibetan identity now? That would open up a can of worms- We are no different than any other species on earth, we all have to adapt to our new environments to survive, be it mentally or physically. Religion and culture- traditions and beliefs- forever changing with time. Majority of the Tibetan youth in the west who have spent their teens here are actively working for the Tibetan cause, the problem i see is that many of them are doing it on a political level and not enough with the development Too much emphasis on the politics, because it is believed that ultimately that is where the power lies.

Leave a Reply

